Great Day to be Alive

It’s funny how songs trigger memories of my Sissy. I remember listening to this song while riding home from our local dirt track on a hot August night in 2003. Brittany said this song made her happy which was pretty damn humorous considering the fact that Brittany disliked country music. In that era she listened to a lot of Sublime and Rob Zombie. We cranked the radio and jammed out to this song like a bunch of little nerds.

It’s A Great Day To Be Alive
Travis Tritt

I got rice cooking in the microwave
I got a three day beard I don’t plan to shave
It’s a goofy thing but I just gotta say, hey,
I’m doing alright

Yeah I think I’ll make me some home-made soup
I’m feeling pretty good and that’s the truth
It’s neither drink nor drug induced, no,
I’m just doing alright

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shining
When I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neighborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good

It’s been fifteen years since I left home
I said good luck to every seed I’d sown
Gave it my best and then I left it alone
I hope they’re doing alright

Now I look in the mirror and what do I see
A lone wolf there staring back at me
Long in the tooth but harmless as can be
Lord I guess he’s doin’ alright

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shining
When I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neighborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good

Sometimes it’s lonely, sometimes it’s only me
And the shadows that fill this room
Sometimes I’m falling, desperately calling
Howling at the moon, ah-ooh, ah-ooh

Well, I might go get me a new tattoo
Or take my old Harley for three day cruise
Might even grow me a fu man chu

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shining
When I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neighborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shining
When I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neighborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good, ah-ooh, oh yeah

About Missy's Crafty Mess

I can often be found with a pile of yarn listening to craft podcasts, music, or an audio book. I am learning to dye my own yarn. I enjoy crafting handmade items to give as gifts to family and friends. I also enjoy donating handmade items in memory of my Sister and Grandfather.
This entry was posted in Brittany and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank You for stopping by Brittany's Memorial site. Please leave us a comment and share your memories.

